Microneedling Cost: Real Prices, RF Comparisons and What Your Quote Includes
Standard face-only microneedling prices in the published menus below range from $250 to $425 per session. Face-only RF microneedling ranges from $750 to $900 in the same small sample. These are dated examples from individual US practices, not nationwide averages. Your total depends on the treatment area, number of visits and what the clinic includes.
This guide separates published prices from fictional examples, shows how packages change what you pay, and helps you build a budget without assuming you need a particular procedure or number of visits.
Editorial details
Microneedling prices at a glance
Standard microneedling
Three published face-only SkinPen prices below are $250, $350 and $425 per visit. These are examples from named practices, not a national price range.
RF microneedling
The face-only RF prices below are $750, $850 and $900. RF adds heat and a different risk discussion; it is not simply a premium version everyone needs.
The full budget
Count the proposed visits, exact areas, separately charged extras and aftercare. Keep possible future maintenance separate from the initial treatment series.
Before buying a package
Get the expiration date, cancellation and unused-visit policy in writing. A discount helps only when the treatment plan remains appropriate and you can use it.
How much does microneedling cost at actual practices?
The table records publicly advertised US prices checked September 27, 2026. We selected menus that identify a device or treatment type. The table distinguishes face-only prices from listings that do not specify the area. We did not request personal quotes, evaluate the practices or confirm that every charge is included. A blank package entry means no package is reported here, not that the practice never offers one.
| Practice, location and treatment | Stated area | Single visit | Advertised package | Package cost per visit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Central MN Dermatology, Minnesota: SkinPen | Face | $250 | Not reported here | Not applicable |
| Luminous, Austin, TX: SkinPen | Full face | $350 | $875 for 3 | $291.67 |
| Rev MedSpa, Quartz Hill, CA: SkinPen | Face | $425 | $1,125 for 3 | $375 |
| Skin Works, Torrance, CA: Pixel8 RF | Face | $750 | 15% off 3; 20% off 4 | $637.50 or $600, calculated if the discount applies to this service |
| Rev MedSpa, Quartz Hill, CA: Morpheus8 | Face | $850 | $2,300 for 3 | $766.67 |
| Central MN Dermatology, Minnesota: Morpheus8 | Full face | $900 | $2,500 for 3 | $833.33 |
| Boston Skin Club, Sharon, MA: SkinPen | Not specified in price entry | $400 regular price | Discounted packages mentioned; no total stated | Confirm in a quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| North Roswell Internal Medicine, Roswell, GA: SkinPen | Not specified in price entry | $350 | Not reported here | Not applicable |
These eight observations span six practices in five states. They are useful reference points, but they cannot establish a nationwide average, the cheapest safe option or a fair price for your particular skin. Package figures are rounded to the nearest cent. Boston Skin Club also displays an April 2026 promotion; we use its regular price because that promotion has expired. Its $500 listing includes exosomes and is a different service.
Skin Works package arithmetic: applying its advertised 15% three-treatment discount to the $750 face price gives $1,912.50 total, or $637.50 per visit. Four at 20% off would total $2,400, or $600 per visit. Those totals are our calculations from the menu, not separately quoted packages; confirm eligible treatments and terms before paying.
What can you conclude? A quote outside these figures deserves an explanation of its scope, rather than an automatic rejection. A face-and-neck proposal with additional comfort care is not directly comparable to a face-only menu price. Conversely, a familiar device name alone does not explain every premium.
Why does RF microneedling usually cost more?
Standard microneedling uses needles to create controlled skin punctures. RF microneedling combines needles with radiofrequency energy to deliver heat. That changes the equipment, treatment design and potential risks. Both can be discussed for certain texture or scar concerns, but the reason to consider RF should be a clinical goal, not the assumption that a higher price buys a better result. FDA: microneedling benefits, risks and safety.
An RF quote can reflect the platform, single-use tip, treatment area, appointment time and pain-management approach. Those are things to identify on the proposal. They are not proof that a specific premium is justified.
The FDA’s October 2025 RF microneedling safety communication describes reports of burns, scarring, fat loss, disfigurement and nerve damage. It does not provide a reliable complication rate for an individual treatment. Price comparisons should therefore include who assesses and treats you, why RF is suitable, and what follow-up is available. Read the FDA communication.
For the treatment decision itself, read microneedling versus RF microneedling, the standard microneedling guide and the RF microneedling results and safety guide. Use this page to prepare a budget before consultation and to check the proposal afterward. If your quote specifically names Morpheus8, our Morpheus8 treatment guide explains the procedure, recovery and questions about facial versus body treatment. For acne scars, start with the differences between acne marks, texture and indented scars; the concern changes which treatments are worth pricing.
What makes one microneedling quote more expensive?
The exact treatment area
“Full face” may not include the neck, under the chin or chest. A small scar area may be priced differently again. Request a written description of the boundaries, especially if your concern crosses areas.
For example, Rev lists SkinPen face at $425 and face plus neck at $475. Skin Works lists RF face at $750 and face plus neck at $1,200. These are different services at different practices, not evidence that adding a neck should have one standard price. Rev menu; Skin Works menu.
Numbing and other comfort measures
Find out whether the appointment price includes topical numbing and the time allowed for it. If another comfort measure is offered, ask whether it is optional, separately charged and appropriate for you. Also establish whether it changes transport or recovery arrangements. Do not buy a numbing product online and apply it yourself to try to make a cheaper session tolerable.
Who performs the assessment and treatment
Two appointments can include different amounts of clinician time, assessment and follow-up. The practical question is what you receive: an appropriate evaluation, a trained and authorized practitioner, a new needle cartridge and a clear way to get help afterward. A luxury setting is not a substitute for those basics. FDA patient information; how to choose an aesthetic provider.
Products and add-ons
PRP is platelet-rich plasma prepared from a person’s blood. It can be offered alongside microneedling, but the quote should distinguish the base procedure from the add-on and explain how the product will be used. At Skin Works, the listed face-only RF price is $750, compared with $1,200 for RF face with PRP. That is a $450 difference on that menu, not a typical nationwide surcharge.
The FDA states that microneedling devices are not approved for delivering cosmetics, medicines or blood products such as PRP into the skin. A device’s authorization does not establish the safety or benefit of every combination sold with it. Ask what evidence supports the additional expense for your concern. FDA; price source.
Two fictional microneedling quotes, explained
Quote A: a face-only treatment package
Three standard microneedling visits: $1,050 total. The written example includes face-only treatment, assessment, topical numbing and a scheduled review. Aftercare products cost $45 once. Travel costs $20 per visit.
Planned cash total: $1,155. Calculation: $1,050 + $45 + (3 × $20). There is no assumed maintenance appointment or financing charge.
Check that face-only treatment covers your concern and that the clinician recommends the three visits before committing to the package.
Quote B: RF over a larger area
Three RF face-and-neck visits: $2,700 total. Topical numbing is included. The example separately charges $100 for a consultation that is not credited, $75 for aftercare and $20 travel per visit.
Planned cash total: $2,935. Calculation: $2,700 + $100 + $75 + (3 × $20). A proposed $250 add-on at every visit would increase it to $3,685.
This quote includes a different procedure and more skin area. Ask for the reason for RF, the reason for treating the neck, and the evidence for the add-on before treating the price difference as a value judgment.

Both quotes are invented teaching examples. They are not offers, suggested treatment schedules or estimates of what your clinic will charge. They exclude unlisted expenses, lost earnings and any treatment of complications.
Are microneedling packages worth it?
A package can reduce the cost of appointments you actually need and complete. It also means paying before you know how your skin responds or whether your schedule will change.
Here is a fictional offer: $400 per visit, or $1,050 for three. Completing all three saves $150 compared with $1,200 paid separately. If you stop after two and the package is nonrefundable, you have spent $1,050 rather than $800. The effective cost of the two completed appointments is $525 each.
| Package question | Why the answer changes the decision |
|---|---|
| When does it expire? | A package that expires soon may conflict with the clinician’s schedule, a pause for skin irritation or your own availability. |
| What happens if treatment is no longer suitable? | A medical pause and a change of mind may have different refund rules. Ask for both. |
| How is a refund calculated? | The practice might deduct used visits at the single-session rate rather than the discounted rate. |
| Can the device, practitioner or location change? | You should understand whether you are buying a particular service or a credit with restrictions. |
| Is the consultation deposit credited? | A credited deposit is part of the treatment total, not an extra charge to add twice. |
| What happens after a missed appointment? | A fee or forfeited visit can remove the advertised savings. |
Keep the written terms and your receipt together. The refund calculation matters just as much as the advertised savings.
How many sessions should you budget for?
The number should come from the concern, treatment and response. The American Academy of Dermatology gives an acne-scar example of three to five standard microneedling treatments spaced two to four weeks apart. That example is not a universal plan for wrinkles, RF treatment or every type of scar. AAD: microneedling.
Instead of asking only “How many?”, ask what will be assessed before another visit is recommended. Comparable photographs, the specific feature being treated and an agreed review point make the answer more useful. Improvement may develop gradually; swelling immediately after a procedure is not a reliable measure of the final result.
For budgeting, write the initial plan and possible later maintenance on separate lines. If the initial treatment series is $1,200 and a later $400 visit is only a possibility, your current commitment is not automatically $1,600. Record the additional $400 as a contingency, then update it when there is an actual recommendation.
The costs that are easy to miss
- Time away: include travel, numbing, treatment and any time you choose to stay away from public-facing work. Paid leave and lost earnings affect people differently.
- Aftercare: distinguish products required by the clinician from optional retail purchases. Ask whether existing suitable products can be used.
- Follow-up: clarify whether the routine review is included and how an unexpected reaction is assessed and billed. Do not assume complication care is free.
- Maintenance and other procedures: a separate scar treatment or future session should have its own rationale and estimate.
- Financing: compare the total repayable amount, fees and payment deadline. Deferred interest can become costly if the promotional balance is not cleared under the agreement. CFPB: medical credit cards and payment plans.
The microneedling recovery guide can help you prepare questions about your routine. It cannot promise that a particular number of days off will suit your procedure.
Build your own microneedling budget
Use the figures on your written proposal. Begin with the package total if you are buying a series, or multiply the single-visit price by the proposed visit count. Add separately charged extras once, then keep uncertain costs visible rather than silently treating them as zero.
Initial treatment series + consultation not credited + required extras + travel or time costs = your planned initial budget. Add maintenance as a separate scenario. This makes it easier to compare two complete proposals and to decide what you can afford without financing assumptions hiding the total.
Put your own quote beside the example
Use the existing budget worksheet to keep treatment costs, extras and questions together. Saving a budget does not request an appointment.
Build my treatment budget →Frequently asked questions
Is SkinPen more expensive than other microneedling pens?
The brand alone cannot establish that. Compare current written quotes for the same area, appointment scope and visit count. A clearance for a named device also does not establish every claim made for the clinic’s complete service.
Is cheaper standard microneedling a reasonable alternative to RF?
It may be an option to discuss when the goal overlaps, but the treatments are not interchangeable for every concern. Decide whether added RF energy has a meaningful role before deciding whether its price is acceptable. Our microneedling versus RF comparison explains those differences.
Does insurance cover microneedling?
Cosmetic treatment is commonly paid out of pocket. If treatment is proposed for a medical indication, get a coverage decision from your insurer for that specific service before relying on reimbursement. A diagnosis on a consultation note does not itself guarantee payment.
Is a home roller a cheaper version of an office treatment?
It should not be budgeted as an equivalent result. Home tools and medical microneedling differ, and the FDA has not authorized microneedling medical devices for over-the-counter sale. The microneedling treatment guide explains the distinction and safety considerations.
Should I commit to a year of maintenance now?
You can ask for an initial treatment series and reassessment first. Understand the later price without assuming you must purchase future visits before your response has been evaluated.
Sources and editorial notes
Prices and sources checked September 27, 2026. The links below identify the published menus, treatment guidance and financing information used in this guide. Citations also appear beside the relevant claims.
Published prices
- Central MN Dermatology: cosmetic-services price list: advertised SkinPen and Morpheus8 prices and package terms reported in the comparison.
- Luminous Face Skin Mind: treatment menu: the listed full-face SkinPen visit and three-visit package.
- Rev MedSpa: published prices: SkinPen and Morpheus8 pricing, including the face versus face-and-neck distinction.
- Skin Works: RF microneedling menu: Pixel8 RF pricing by area and the separately described PRP option.
- Boston Skin Club: SkinPen menu: regular-price observation; expired promotional and exosome-inclusive prices are kept separate.
- North Roswell Internal Medicine: SkinPen: published single-session price; the price entry does not define the treatment area.
Treatment safety and payment planning
- FDA: microneedling benefits, risks and safety: differences between device types and the treatment-safety questions that belong alongside price.
- FDA: microneedling devices: authorized uses, needle-cartridge practices, combination uses and home-device limitations.
- FDA: RF microneedling safety communication: reported serious complications. It does not establish an individual patient’s complication probability.
- American Academy of Dermatology: microneedling: treatment expectations and the acne-scar session example discussed above.
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau: medical credit cards and payment plans: deferred interest and other financing terms to examine.
How to interpret the evidence and examples
The price table is a small sample of public menus from six practices, not a nationwide survey or a recommendation of those clinics. Prices can change, and the menus do not confirm every possible charge. We did not obtain individualized quotes or test the services. Package prices per visit are calculated from advertised totals or, where labeled, advertised percentage discounts.
The two annotated quotes and the cost graphic are original, fictional teaching examples. Their arithmetic can be checked, but their totals are not estimates for your treatment and do not measure equivalent clinical benefit.
NuWays MD is an educational publication, not a medical provider. This guide is not medical advice. Independent clinical review remains pending. How we prepare and update guides · Commercial disclosures.